The Charlie Brown You’ve Probably Never Heard

It would be impossible to escape that good man named Charlie Crown during the joyous Christmas season. A Charlie Brown Christmas has become not only a staple for Christmas songs such as the piano driven rendition of “O Tannenbaum” and the ice-skating favorite, “Christmas Time is Here,” but also for the iconic Christmas episode revolving around the sad, depressing twig for a Christmas tree that the gang chorusses around in happiness towards the end.

26_d__0_ItsChristmastimeAgainCharlieBr

Growing up in my own home, one of my most favorite Christmas shorts was not this special. It was It’s Christmas Time Again, Charlie Brown, the original’s slightly younger brother. I can still picture seeing this dancing Snoopy twirling around the bulky, green VHS cover like it was yesterday.

As a child, I always felt like nobody except my own family had even heard of that particular story that included many little stories into one short episode. Maybe I’m wrong now since the DVD version comes with both Christmas specials, but I can only hope people have seen the hilarious tale of the Peanuts gang.

From Linus and Sally sledding in a box, to Peppermint Patty’s troubles as a sheep in the Christmas play, to to my most favorite of them all, Sally’s one liner in the same Christmas play where she may or may not have flubbed her simple “Hark,” I can’t help but smile at the thought of the ruckus I would make when watching it (which you can see one below).

So, throughout all of the hustle and bustle that Christmas brings, I can’t help but suggest taking a little out of your busy times and catch this hilarious parade of goofs and laughs.

Merry Christmas to all!

Leave a Reply

